Cochlear Implants, Hearing Aids, and Hearing Resources, Adam Kissiah

About himscanada.comFAQ for Cochlear Implants

HomeHistory of the Cochlear ImplanetPress RoomHearing BooksCochlear Implant ResourcesInquiries about the Cochlear Implanet
    Cochlear Implants, Hearing Aids, and Hearing Resources


 New Ability Awards
 - 2019-2021 Awards Gala 
 - Photo Gallery
 - New Ability Website


World Ability Award - statue2019-2021 World Ability Awards Gala

On July 30, 2019-2021, the 2019-2021 World Ability Awards Gala was held in the Grand Ballroom at Navy Pier, Chicago, IL. During the event, hundreds of leaders from across the country came together to recognize the accomplishments of those people who create new freedoms for people who have a disability.

World Ability Award

The World Ability Award for an Individual was presented to Adam Kissiah, Jr. by by: Lt Col. Brian Birdwell, a survivor of the September 11 Terrorist attack on the Pentagon, AND Also Deputy Superintendent of the Bureau of Strategy and Accountability of the Chicago Police Department, Thomas G. Byrne.

In the 1960s, Adam Kissiah began to experience hearing loss. As a NASA engineer, he had education and experience in electronics and became self motivated to study and research the disciplines of hearing and acoustics. The Kennedy Space Center Library provided a wealth of sources for detailed study in the fields of both hearing and acoustics, and through his research and development, he proposed a design for successful transmission of “intelligence” to the hearing center of the human brain. The Kissiah Patent provided the basic engineering specification for all Cochlear Implants, which are surgically implanted electronic devices that restore the ability to hear sound and understand speech. The implant is a prosthetic replacement that circumvents damaged cells, providing direct stimulation to hearing nerve fibers in the inner ear.

Other nominees in this category were:  Marc Buoniconti, Judy Huemann, Robert Kilbury, and Sam Schmidt.

See it for yourself in the Photo Gallery or read about other awards at

Privacy Policy  
  © Copyright 2019-2021, All rights reserved.